DO YOU NEED HELP?

Looking for shelter, clothing, housing or food?
Get help now

Most Needed Items in Homeless Shelters

Most Needed Items in Homeless Shelters

We accept clean and gently used clothing in good repair. During the winter months, we are in need of warm winter coats, long pants, boots, sweaters, hats and mittens. During the summer months, we are in need of light shirts, pants and new underwear.

Sometimes we’re topped up with supplies and may not be able to receive your donation. But, please try another time. Fred Victor sites have no storage space. Unfortunately, we are not able to do pickups.

Here are the most needed items:

  • TTC tokens
  • toiletries such as soap, shampoo, conditioner, toothpaste, toothbrushes, deodorant
  • pajamas and large tee-shirts for sleeping
  • new underwear for men and women
  • laundry detergent
  • linens such as new or gently used sheets, blankets, mattress covers, comforters, and towels
  • art and craft supplies
  • clothing in season, special need for men’s shoes and winter boots
  • healthy fresh food and snacks
  • pet supplies such as kitty litter, dog beds, leashes, treats (Caledonia Shelter primarily)
  • stainless steel pots and pans for Fred Victor’s Housing

Choose a program, contact and arrange your donation drop off.

Emergency Overnight Shelters
Bethlehem United Shelter at 1161 Caledonia Rd.
– Reception, 416-644 – 1734 ext. 5201 or Danielle Ashby, dashby@fredvictor.org
Women’s Hostel at 86 Lombard Street
– Reception, 416-368-2642 ext. 4441 or 4444 or Andrea Willis, awillis@fredvictor.org

Off the Street Drop-ins
Women’s 24/7 at 67 Adelaide St. E.
– Sherry Hayes, shayes@fredvictor.org
Open House at 145 Queen Street East, includes art and gardening programs
– Reception, 416-644-3081 or Nancy Bolton, nbolton@fredvictor.org

Permanent Affordable Housing for diverse people including families on limited incomes

Mortimer Road and Dawes Road Housing
– Kelly Blakeman, kblakeman@fredvictor.org
20 Palace St. Permanent Housing
– Luke Smith Adams, lsmith@fredvictor.org

145 Queen Street East Housing
– Tara Bradford, tbradford@fredvictor.org

Transitional Housing for Women

386 Dundas Street East
– Reception, 416-368-9138, or Ulli Groppler, ugroppler@fredvictor.org
389 Church Street for senior women only
– Maureen Squibb, msquibb@fredvictor.org

Community Mental Health Services


Reception for all programs in west end
– 416-482-4103 ext. 316
Housing and supports for people in the criminal justice system
– Natasha Bartlett, nbartlett@fredvictor.org
In the community supporting people right across the City with a hub in Scarborough
– Vaughn Robertson, vrobertson@fredvictor.org
St. Jamestown seniors on low incomes, very isolated
– Leslie Morris, lmorris@fredvictor.org